NMIT Graduates ‘Forge’ @ Northcote Town Hall

17 11 2010

If you want to see an absolutely magnificent graduate jewellery exhibition, make sure you make time to get along to the Northcote Town Hall to see the NMIT Graduate and second year student’s exhibition ‘Forge‘.

I am always impressed by the professionalism and handskills of the NMIT graduate shows [last year’s review is here and their auction review is here].

installation; photograph taken with permission

It’s interesting to compare the RMIT and NMIT exhibitions, as I’ve seen them so close together it’s hard not to… I’ve said before that the focus at NMIT on handskills is well-known, and the exhibition really does show this. That’s not to say that handskills aren’t in evidence at the RMIT exhibition, but the consistency is more obvious at NMIT. And it’s certainly not a reflection on the abilities of the respective students, but more the focus of the institutions.

I was presented with a beautifully produced booklet upon walking into the NMIT exhibition, for free. How wonderful. It wasn’t just me, everyone was … I’m not that famous!

installation; photograph taken with permission

Artists exhibiting this year are below (in alphabetic order). I’ve added their links, where I didn’t have them before, to my links page.

  • Ryuta Amagasa [website]
  • Anny Apostoplidis – thread-festooned bowls are spectacular
  • Annie Broadway [website] – Circle object was my favourite piece in the show
  • Renae Burton
  • Vanessa Caruso [website] – hatpins my friend and I very much liked
  • Anastasia Chiappalone
  • Eleni Coroneos – hairclips were a fantastic shape, but with short hair a brooch would have been better for me (I did consider taking one home before realising)
  • Laura Eyles
  • Sophie Ferriroli – incredible silversmithing is on show in the arresting chastity item as you enter the room (forefront in above image)
  • Paige Fountain [website]
  • Fatima Grant
  • Cemil Jimmy Gulasi
  • Joanna Harris-Macneil – pale blue enamelled earrings I thought were lovely (though I don’t wear earrings)
  • Paolo Hernandez-Camargo
  • Carly Jacobs [website]
  • Jacqueline Joosen
  • Emma Luke [website] – her striking Metropolis-esque neckpieces unfortunately were not published in the booklet
  • Nichola Prendergast
  • Kim Russell
  • Anjila Singh – little bowls were lovely
  • Giao Tran – who we got to speak to on the day of our visit
  • Naomi Walsh
  • Luna Zucchi [website] – rings were the subject of intense trying-on and buying-musing of a fellow gallery visitor when I was there

installation; photograph taken with permission

Huge congratulations to the artists!

Forge‘ is at Northcote Town Hall until 21st November 2010 – that’s only this weekend, make sure you go!


Actions

Information

3 responses

19 11 2010
Vanessa Caruso

Hello,
Thank you so much for attending our Graduate Show and for such an awesome review. We are all very proud of our work and are extremely excited that you appreciated it too.
Hope to catch up with you in the future.
Cheers
Vanessa Caruso (NMIT Jewellery Graduate)

4 12 2010
Sophie Ferriroli

Thanks for the lovely right up of our show, and supporting us.
Much appreciated.

Sophie Ferriroli

29 11 2011
‘Auteur’ @ Northcote Town Hall « Melbourne Jeweller

[…] wrote in my review post on the last NMIT exhibition of the different focuses of NMIT and RMIT. I don’t want to repeat myself, but it’s hard […]