Lucy Folk ‘Pasta’ @ Alice Euphemia

8 04 2009

The launch of Lucy Folk‘s ‘Pasta‘ collection for Alice Euphemia, currently on display on the mezzanine level of the shop, has been written about on The Vine and Style Lines.  I was not given permission to photograph, so look to the Style Lines story for some images of the jewellery. Also refer to Pieces of Eight for more information on this series and Lucy’s other work.

Most immediately obvious to me was the outstanding exhibition design – threaded pasta ‘curtains’ reminiscent of Nona’s kitchen bead curtain, custom printed canvas tea-towels, pale blue kitchenalia on which the jewellery was presented, and canvas bags of pasta – deliberate and thoughtful integration of the theme into all aspects of the visual experience.

The long necklaces with a number of small silver rigatoni beads were my favourite. Funnily enough, I didn’t much like the bow pasta pieces at the time, and only on reflection realised it was because it reminded me of the first time I had this shaped pasta which was undercooked and not at all enjoyable … well, that’s the first time an experience with a disappointing meal has affected my response to a jewellery piece!

Of course the work references one of our first jewellery creations as children, the pasta necklace. Lucy’s other work also references and takes inspiration from food – corn chips, pretzels, burger rings, popcorn and other party food. But I felt a nostalgia and tenderness here that isn’t evident to me in her other series. These silver representations brought to mind the lovely faces kindergarten-age children pull when they’re concentrating on making something, and the slightly faded colours of the vegetable dye used to make the pasta necklace more colourful.

I think I’ll call my four-year-old niece and see if she wants to play…

Pasta‘ is on until 11th April 2009.


Actions

Information

2 responses

10 04 2009
kitandcaboodle

Hi Karen
I just stumbled across your blog while travelling in cyberspace. Its really interesting to read your perspective on all of those Melbourne exhibitions. Seems like you have been busy.
Why dont you come and join kit and caboodle too. You can put a feed on your page and link it all back to your site. It would be great to have your contribution.
Cheers
Cathy

10 04 2009
Karen

Thanks Cathy – I’m glad you’ve found my site, it is but a fledgling but I’m excited about it.
Kit and Caboodle is a fantastic community and I’ve been meaning to join for a few weeks now – will do so very soon!