‘Inside the Realm of Invisible Spheres’ @ C3

16 07 2009

While I was checking the next market dates at the Abbotsford Convent, I came across the listing for exhibitions at the C3 Gallery (blog). The titles and descriptions were intriguing, so I visited on one of my regular ‘Fitzroy-Fridays’ (I love Fitzroy, and as weekends are not ideal for me to go there, I like to spend some of my Fridays off doing the things I like there).

Inside the Realm of Invisible Spheres‘ is a collaboration between Debbie Symons and Jasmine Targett. I very much liked this show.

Exhibition media states: “These works explore the shifts of perception that occur when our awareness of reality through observation is deconstructed, exposing a rupture in the natural order. Spheres and bubbles with their infinite and sensitive boundaries mark out fragile positive and negative spaces.

photograph taken with gallery permission

photograph taken with gallery permission

Debbie created the two-dimensional pieces; the maps drawn on graph paper trace the outline of the arctic ice caps. They are shown in pairs, southern and northern, and at time intervals 1992, 1997, 2008/9 – showing the changing outline. I have a connection with maps that I’ve explored through my own art, so I relate to these drawings.

Jasmine has made the blown glass pieces – I liked the little ones so much that one came home with me.

photograph taken with gallery permission

photograph taken with gallery permission

Unfortunately, I visited this on one of its last days … so I didn’t get to publish this in time. ‘Inside the Realm of Invisible Spheres‘ was at C3 from 24th June to 12th July 2009.

Also, the duo has another show, ‘Losing the Unique‘ in September at Shifted Gallery. And I have just found that Jasmine is a member of the Brown Paper Collective (I’ve mentioned them before) – who will be at the ‘this is not a design market‘ this Sunday 19th.


Actions

Information

4 responses

16 07 2009
jasmine

oh shucks! send me your email so i can fwd you some more pretty pictures. hope you are enjoying your little bubble very much : )

2 09 2009
jazzy

hello!
how r u?
i went to send you an invite for my next show, but could not find your email address, i can’t find it on here either.. i’m i just a little blind?.. perhaps.
hope you are well, loving following your blog!
jazzy

3 09 2009
Karen

Hello Jazzy
I will send you an email soon! Looking forward to seeing your new work.

18 09 2009
‘Losing the Unique’ @ Shifted Gallery « Melbourne Jeweller

[…] and Debbie Symonds recently collaborated on ‘Inside the Realm of Invisible Spheres‘ [previous post], and their latest work ‘Losing the Unique‘ is at Shifted Gallery in […]