Dante’s ‘Inferno’

4 09 2014

After many years of wanting to, I’ve started reading Dante’s ‘Comedia‘.
The first book being Inferno.
Some parts I’ve really enjoyed, others I’ve just waded through.

A few of my favourite parts from it:

  • At one point midway on our path in life,
    I came around and found myself searching
    through a dark wood, the right way blurred and lost
    [canto 1, 1-3]
    .
  • In autumn, leaves are lifted, one by one,
    away until the branch looks down and sees
    its tatters all arrayed upon the ground.
    [canto 3, 112-114]
    .
  • No fresh green leaves but dismal in colour,
    no boughs clean arc-ed but knotty and entwined,
    no apples were there but thorns, poison-pricked.
    [canto 13, 4-7]
    .
  • barked in her lunacy like any cur,
    the pain of it so wretched her mind askew
    [canton 30, 20-21]

All from ‘The Divine Comedy I: Inferno‘ translated by Robin Kirkpatrick.

 


Actions

Information




