Favourite artworks

21 04 2014

During a conversation a friend mentioned their favourite artwork. I didn’t have a reply – I couldn’t call to mind my favourite artworks. How amazing. For someone who spends so much time thinking about art, it surprised me.

Therefore I set myself the task of thinking through artworks and considering which I would possibly identify as my favourites. I suspected that I wouldn’t have just one, or even five, or perhaps I’d only be able to identify artists and their periods and not individual pieces … but let’s see.

To make it a simpler exercise, I’ll start with paintings.
Expanding to other media will be for another day.

A few I admire greatly:

  • The Arnolfini Portrait, Jan van Eyck, 1434
    in National Gallery, London

    via Wiki Commons

    via Wiki Commons

    .

  • Primavera, Botticelli, c1482
    in the Uffizi, Florence

    in the public domain

    via Wiki Commons

    .

For someone who professes to be figurative-adverse, I was initially surprised by the portraits included in my list – but then again, they are all from that era I love most.

It’s a strange thing, but I suspect I don’t really have favourites – for I can see so much in so many artworks, and it depends a great deal on my mood and such ephemeral matters.

This topic requires much more thought.


Actions

Information




