That’s not a cameo…

12 03 2014

With Monday being a public holiday in Melbourne, and feeling like relaxing, I may quite possibly have binged on documentaries.

One was about the jewels of the Scandinavian royal families. There was much sparkle. Blinding. And so the first cameo I saw during my documentary festival was the below pearl and cameo diadem, apparently first created for Bonaparte’s wife Josephine and worn by Swedish royal brides for the last century. This post has a good historic provenance listing.

It seemed restrained and muted compared to the other gem-heavy numbers featured.

click on image for original source

click on image for original source

But in a parody of Crocodile Dundee … that’s not a cameo ….

The second cameo I discovered was while watching part 2 of the series ‘Treasures of Ancient Rome‘. Apparently cameo carving was exceptionally highly prized in Ancient Rome, even more so than sculpture. This I didn’t know. Nor did I know the scale of some of the cameos …

click on image for original source

click on image for original source

I present the ‘Great Cameo of France‘ … it’s bigger than an A4 sheet of paper.
Woah. Now that’s a cameo.

That’s all I have to say about cameos for now.


Actions

Information




