Souleiado

2 10 2013

My new favourite word: souleiado.

I like it most for what it translates to mean: ‘when the sun shines through the clouds after the rain‘ (french).

I discovered it when watching some travel kind of program; the focus was Provence and the Souleiado fabric house was mentioned as one of those carrying on the tradition of indiennes. Their patterns are carved on wooden blocks, one for each of the colours in the pattern; and fabrics are hand-printed. Incredible.

wooden pattern blocks; click on image for original source

wooden pattern blocks; click on image for original source

I’ve been enamored with indiennes and Provence fabrics since undertaking the research for my Gold brooches in 2005. I’ve been wanting to visit the region for years now … and now I have another place to add to my list.

ps. I still love Eigengrau too; I’m such a word-tart.


Actions

Information




