What colour is…

14 07 2013

Dear Melbourne-dwellers and Melbourne-lovers

I have a simple question … if Fitzroy were a colour, what would it be?

What colour is Fitzroy?

Please tell me your thoughts by comment.
Your replies are important, they may be the foundation of a new body of work.

Love and hugs
MelbourneJeweller

Brunswick Street Fitzroy, looking south; 1906; State Library of Victoria (out of copyright); click on image for source

Brunswick Street Fitzroy, looking south; 1906; State Library of Victoria (out of copyright); click on image for source

ps. for example

  • Florence : a darker kind of sienna terracotta
  • Paris : a smudged slightly-off-white
  • Seville : a strong saffron yellow with hint of mustard depth

pps. [14Jul13, 19:22] I’ve been wondering if it’s Eigengrau; my great-grandma was born and raised in Fitzroy, and I often think about the horrible times she and her mother had to live through (early 1900s), in poverty in a poor and pretty rough suburb … and so I imagine them both closing their eyes many times, with fear, with sadness, with exhaustion, and perhaps at times while giggling at something delightful.


Actions

Information

2 responses

14 07 2013
Vetti

Sounds v interesting…I will think more and get back to you soon!

14 07 2013
Karen

Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

There’s a possibility I’ll also be asking about other suburbs: Northcote, Brunswick, Coburg, Carlton …




