Colossal craft crush: Haptic Lab

10 07 2013

Regular readers will know a few things about me:

Can you imagine the kniptions I was in when I discovered Haptic Lab!?!
No, you can’t … really, you can’t … I was positively apoplectic!

Haptic Lab make quilts with the stitching tracing out the street maps of London, New York, Paris, and other US cities.

They also make quilts with the stitching tracing out other mapping features of the US – including the Great Lakes. They also offer DIY quilts, where you get the outline and you make the quilt yourself, with the opportunity to customise as you go. Naturally they make beautifully stunning custom quilts too.

Finally, and most importantly, they do a CONSTELLATION quilt (and yes, a Southern sky version too). Excited much!

I LOVE what is being done here. I want to do it too. If only I’d thought of it before I saw this. In my ideal world, this is my ideal career – making quilts and maps go together … I cannot imagine a more lovely way to spend the days.

NYC quilt; image from their website; click on image for original source

NYC quilt; image from their website; click on image for original source


Actions

Information

One response

1 08 2013
When you love someone else’s idea | Melbourne Jeweller

[…] Recently I posted about my new colossal craft crush – quilted maps or map quilts. […]




