More detail on ‘My Australia’ pieces

26 04 2013

I had such fun making three brooches for the ‘My Australia‘ exhibition.

As I mentioned in my previous post, the construction was a little different to work I’ve made before. The adaptions to construction were due to these being brooches, not pendants – so I needed to find a way of incorporating the brooch backs / pins.

in progress

in progress

My Australia group; image not to be reproduced without permission

My Australia group; image not to be reproduced without permission

My Australia group; image not to be reproduced without permission

My Australia group; image not to be reproduced without permission

They were essentially made upside-down, with the bezel set on the back. I could probably refine the method with more practice.

I added a single thread of fine gold cloisonné wire to the back of the ‘Sunrise‘ brooch … I love surprises just for the wearer.

I’d love to see the exhibition in its entirety – the collection of makers looks diverse and interesting!

My Australia‘ is at Seven Spirit Bay Eco Resort until November 2013. [see update below]

Update (26th April): The exhibition was originally to open in April and go through to November; however I understand that due to unforeseen circumstances, the exhibition will be moved to a new location and will open in a few months.


Actions

Information




