My pieces for ‘My Australia’ exhibition

25 04 2013

I have some pieces in the ‘My Australia‘ exhibition, curated by Jasmine Matus and held in the Seven Spirit Bay Eco Resort in the Northern Territory [see update below].

Some sneak peek images were shared a little while ago; and it’s my practice to wait until an exhibition is up before showing in detail images.

Jasmine put the call out for artists to join her exhibition: “Create a body of work that details ‘your Australia’, what Australia holds true to you with a focus on the natural landscape.” Naturally, my thoughts immediately turned to my little collection of opals; and to expand my exploration of combining opals and woven paper panels.

I felt it was time to reduce reliance on (or perhaps the prominence of) the woven paper component … so my three brooches show a progression seeing a large portion of the weave to seeing very little of it.

My Australia; group; image not to be reproduced without permission

My Australia; group; image not to be reproduced without permission

From left to right: ‘Sunrise‘, ‘Rockpool‘ and ‘Riverbed‘.

My camera / photography set-up isn’t too fancy, and as such I find it pretty tricky to find the best way to photograph the incredible beauty of opals.

Sunrise; image not to be reproduced without permission

Sunrise; image not to be reproduced without permission

Rockpool; image not to be reproduced without permission

Rockpool; image not to be reproduced without permission

Riverbed; image not to be reproduced without permission

Riverbed; image not to be reproduced without permission

These were constructed in a manner a little different to previous work … I’ll detail in another post tomorrow.

Update (26th April): The exhibition was originally to open in April; however I understand that due to unforeseen circumstances, the exhibition will be moved to a new location and will open in a few months.


Actions

Information

One response

25 04 2013
Sylvia

They turned out well and I like your titles. My favourite is the centre brooch.




