RMIT Year 3, Semester 2, Silversmithing

26 02 2013

Third year, second semester, Silversmithing: Mapping the Self

As mentioned in my previous post, this was a project of free personal exploration. I continued from the silversmithing project of Semester 1 that year.

As I wrote in the ‘map’ that accompanied the collection:

For each of us there are special places in world where we feel that we belong.  But what if you have not previously been to these places – what if you have come across them on your travels, yet these places resonate and have a strange pull on you?  Somehow you sense you belong, in the landscape, or amongst the people of that place.

Have you found a fragment of your identity in this place?

Or does this place somehow form a part of your identity?

Is this a kind of ‘genetic memory’ – a familiarity built into your very make-up?

Where are your special places?  Where would your map guide your visitors?

The special places I have so far found are detailed in this map – at least those found to date.  I am sure there will be further volumes in the future.

Thank you for visiting, but please do take care, tread lightly, and take your litter with you.

I made four small-scale objects, one for each of the places I’ve visited in my travels that I felt a special affinity for. Each of these map-based objects was accompanied by a matching-scale porcelain slip-cast fingerprint (one of my finger prints, enlarged and carved into linoleum, onto which the ceramic was poured).

The fingerprints were not the most successful part of this grouping, but I did and still do very much love the small objects. I was especially pleased that I had resolved the securing of the layers in a much better fashion than the first semester project.

1. Cornwall, England
dimensions: 190  *  115  *  20 mm
map source:
Ordnance Survey, sheet 203, 1:50000

with porcelain print; not to be reproduced without permission

with porcelain print; not to be reproduced without permission

2. Avebury, Wiltshire, England
dimensions: 160  *  90  *  22 mm
map source: Ordnance Survey, sheet 173, 1:50000

with porcelain print; not to be reproduced without permission

with porcelain print; not to be reproduced without permission

Avebury; image not to be reproduced without permission

Avebury; image not to be reproduced without permission

Will write more shortly.


Actions

Information

2 responses

18 03 2013
RMIT Year 3, Semester 2, Silversmithing, continued | Melbourne Jeweller

[…] To continue with this project… […]

1 03 2014
Hoorah: 5 years and 1200 posts | Melbourne Jeweller

[…] Perhaps to celebrate, an image of my favourite silversmithing object : ‘Avebury‘. […]




