Commission: ‘Opal01’ pendant

12 12 2012

One of my most beautiful friends was admiring my Oh Opal!‘ pieces … and while we were talking about which ones she liked and why, we decided that instead of her needing to choose between two of those she liked, we would collaborate to make a pendant especially for her.

Yes, my very first commission!

From the many opals I own, she selected what I would consider the most gorgeous of them all: I call it Opal01, as it was the first opal I bought (all my opals are named in the order they came to my collection). I had intended for it to be in the ‘Oh Opal!‘ exhibition, however I didn’t like how the setting eventuated.

This opal is simply stunning! It is from Mintabie, South Australia. I bought it on eBay, and remember when it arrived I couldn’t believe its beauty.

post_opal01_01 post_opal01_03

post_opal01_04 post_opal01_05

We worked together to design the scale and proportion of the pendant, and the colouring of the weave.

nearly there; image not to be reproduced without permission

nearly there; image not to be reproduced without permission

I am so excited about the final result!

'Opal01' pendant; image not to be reproduced without permission

‘Opal01’ pendant; image not to be reproduced without permission

So many thanks to my beautiful friend for her trust in me – I couldn’t dream of a more lovely collaborative process, nor a more wonderful patron and model for my jewellery!


Actions

Information

One response

12 12 2012
s

Lovely!




