‘Opal04’ pendant

7 05 2012

My pieces for ‘Oh Opal!‘ in a little more detail.

I had wondered if I’d write first about the concept behind the group; or share images of each piece in detail, see if anyone can see where I’m getting to, and then reveal the concept … and as can likely be judged by now, have gone with the latter.

The naming convention though is pretty easy: each opal was numbered in the order I bought them.
So this was the fourth I bought for this project; hence ‘Opal04‘.

Opal04; image not to be reproduced without permission

The opal and her weave alone, unset …

Opal04, in progress; image not to be reproduced without permission

And the back (not a photograph, but I scanned it in!):

Opal04, back; image not to be reproduced without permission

previous post on ‘Oh Opal!


Actions

Information

3 responses

7 05 2012
Ilze Svarcs

Gorgeous! I love the texture in the background. So rare to see opals used successfully in contemporary work. If I’m wrong, point me in the right direction.

7 05 2012
Karen

Thank you so much for your kind comment!
Yes, there are many pieces at Redox that are attempting to do just that – put the opal in a more contemporary context.
It’s a lovely gallery, so do visit if you can.

7 05 2012
Ilze Svarcs

…I’ve obviously got to get to Redox to see more great opal work.




