Makers mark: Katherine Bowman

21 03 2012

One of my favourite jewellers, Katherine Bowman, has kindly allowed me to publish her makers mark, and has provided me with a lovely story about her mark.

Katherine Bowman makers mark; with artist permission

I did not want my initials as my stamp. I suppose that it would have made sense to do this as the actual mark is so small, and the image that I have chosen is sometimes hard to read.

It has never been important to me to sign my work, I especially do not like signing works on paper or paintings especially on the front of the image. I now sign the back, and with prints I sign the front as is the tradition with this.

Once I finished Gold and Silversmithing and started selling my work I was told that I had to stamp my work if I was going to continue to sell it through galleries. So I had a stamp made with the image of the warp and weft of fabric, and have been very attached to my stamp ever since.

At the time I had the stamp made I was researching the significance of storytelling in jewellery and textiles. I came across a number of texts that explored the notion that different cultures wove their belief systems into the fabric they made. Clothes, not only protected the wearer, but like jewellery, also marked an individual’s role in society as well as in the life cycle.

The symbol of the warp and weft for me is about storytelling. I think that it is beautiful as a simple image, and at the same time it refers to something greater than itself.

I use in my artist statement the words of Trinh T. Minh-ha:
Storytelling: her words set in motion the things that lie
dormant in things and beings…

Katherine Bowman, with artist permission

I will add this information to my makers mark page.

It would be so super duper if more artists would please contribute to this knowledge bank!

Also – I wonder, have artists with blogs and websites added their makers mark to their information??


Actions

Information




