Calendar: February 2012

31 01 2012

Click on below for detail … hidden to save loading time

all month

  • Powerhouse Museum, ‘Love Lace‘ [link]; until April 2012
  • Renaissance‘, National Gallery of Australia (Canberra) [link]; until 9th April 2012 (see my first and second review post)
  • NGV ‘Time Catcher‘ [link]; until November 2012

4th February: last day for Studio 20/17, Julia Middleton ‘Adaptations of Objet Trouve‘ [link]

5th February: last day for ‘Kaleidoscope: Art & Colour‘, NGV [link]

7th February: Studio 20/17, new work by Anna Davern [link]; “Gold and Steel are materials that are intrinsically tied to stories of our culture and how we define ourselves. Our cultural myths abound with references to gold and steel: Our egalitarian heritage that can be tied back to the Gold Rush and it’s opportunities for all, and the steel of Ned Kelly’s armour which represents our distrust of authority. The landscape from which these materials originate, is a defining element of our identity, from the iron-oxide red of the centre to the golden sands of its edges.“; artist talk on 18th February; until 21st February

exhibition media

8th February: Doris Betz Lecture at RMIT University; 6-7pm; “As part of her Melbourne program, between the Masterclass at RMIT (February 3rd-7th) and exhibition ‘moments like this’ at Gallery Funaki Doris Betz, renowned German jeweller, will be giving a free Public Lecture at RMIT.“; [RMIT University, Building 8, Level 11, Room 68, (enter from Bowen Street); Balancing act – “Making my jewellery feels like having a mystery-flight-ticket in the pocket, not knowing where one will end up. But at the same time I do have an aim. In the end there should be a damned good piece of jewellery. I always try to invent processes I cannot control, I try to make things happen, I’m spontaneous and attentive, I follow my instinct and also my experience. This process of not knowing, not wanting, just playing, staying free, being without intention, casual…and suddenly getting excited…and then recognizing the point when one has to take control again, is a balancing act.” Doris Betz

9th February: opening night for RMIT Gallery ‘Joyaviva – Live jewellery from across the Pacific‘ [link] 6-8pm; “”; showing 10th – 24th March

exhibition media

10 – 13 February: JEMPOSIUM: Jewellery or What; International Jewellery Symposium; Wellington, New Zealand [link]

10th February: [updated information] Gallery Funaki, Doris Betz ‘moments like this‘ [link]; “Making my jewellery feels like having a mystery-flight-ticket in the pocket, not knowing where one will end up. But at the same time I do have an aim. In the end there should be a damned good piece of jewellery. I always try to invent processes I cannot control, I try to make things happen, I’m spontaneous and attentive, I follow my instinct and also my experience. This process of not knowing, not wanting, just playing, staying free, being without intention, casual…and suddenly getting excited…and then recognizing the point when one has to take control again, is a balancing act. “; until 3rd March

exhibition media

11th February: last day for Lord Coconut, ‘BEARS, BOOMERANGS, BATHERS & BOOZE – KITSCH AUSTRALIANA‘ [link]

29th February: last day for Craft Vic, window, GoldenInk [link]

please tell me of other exhibitions or events … there has to be more happening in February!

Melissa Cameron has some more events and deadlines to note – see her post (I won’t repeat them here, as I didn’t know about them until I read her blog!)

plan ahead for [see also]:

1st June 2012: last day for application to New Traditional Jewellery 2012 award [link]

… last calendar post: Calendar: February 2012 sneak peek


Actions

Information

One response

31 01 2012
Lisa

Hi! To add to the calendar; I had an email from RMIT Gallery about an upcoming exhibition starting 9th Feb- see Joyaviva.net for details, or RMIT gallery site.

Regards,

Lisa




