RMIT Year 2, Semester 1, Theory #1

16 01 2012

I haven’t written before about the Theory and History subjects that were a compulsory part of the Fine Art degree at RMIT. In time I’ll go back through my first year subjects, but for now I’m on a roll writing about second year, so I’ll start there.

Second year, first semester, History & Theory, project #1: ‘Analysis of a Specific Work

As an object-based student I wanted to choose both an Australian and a three-dimensional artist. My topic was:

FIONA HALL
PARADISUS TERRESTRIS ENTITLED, 1996
Collection of the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV), Australia, Ian Potter Centre

I’ve made my first attempt to upload my theory essay:
KarenThompson_Y2S1_Theory1_FionaHall
[this is an original research essay; no content is to be reproduced without permission]

image provided by NGV; not to be reproduced without permission

I thoroughly enjoyed researching Fiona’s work. See her profile on Roslyn Oxley9 gallery site here.

After writing this essay, our class actually visited a major exhibition of her work at the Art Gallery of South Australia. There I fell in love with more of her work (see this work of ink drawings on currency) … and wish I had seen it before writing!

… last post on RMIT Year 2, Semester 1, Drawing


Actions

Information




