RMIT Year 2, Semester 1, Drawing

13 01 2012

The third studio-based subject I undertook in Semester 1 for 2nd year was Drawing.

This was actually a one-week intensive course, [held in either January or February, I cannot remember exactly which now], so it could be completed before semester started. This kind of arrangement made is much easier for me to fit in my day-job during the main part of semester.

Upon arriving at 9am on the first day, we were told that first few days were to be life drawing. A nude man was first. Panic set in. I lack confidence in my drawing ability, though in time I have become more comfortable that I am pretty capable. However at the time, the thought of first testing my drawing on a nude man was beyond overwhelming. I thought of running out of the class immediately – I’m not joking. Perseverance won over and I stayed.

From memory the pattern of the week was two days life drawing, one object drawing and one landscape (urban) drawing, and one day for one large scale drawing.

Three of my favourites from the week are below:

Karen Thompson; life drawing; image not to be reproduced without permission

Karen Thompson; still life with crystal ball; image not to be reproduced without permission

Karen Thompson; large scale drawing; image not to be reproduced without permission

… last post: RMIT Year 2, Semester 1, Assessment


Actions

Information




