Chairs. I want to know more.

28 12 2011

My beautiful chairs were deconstructed recently – as I posted.

In this state, I noticed they’re stamped with numbers (in the middle of the front piece on the base):

chair 10

chair 16

This intrigues me. I want to know more.

All I know is that their Danish – well, they were bought in Denmark (by Ed from Grandfathers Axe) recently. We think they’re between Art Deco and Modernist … maybe more mid-century, maybe not even Danish.

beautiful ... bringing sexy back ... yeah!

I wonder how many were made…
I wonder who the maker was…
I wonder how I can find out more ….

I did a little bit of reading a found a similar shaped chair, perhaps a precedent, attributed to the Scandinavian Art Deco period [here] … but I want to know more!

Update (29th December): I emailed the store with the similar shaped chair and they replied in super-speedy time (how great is that!). Their advice is that my chairs are likely Danish and from around 1930-55. Cool! Though my investigation continues….


Actions

Information




