RMIT students ‘Work Hardened’ @ Spill Art Space

26 11 2011

It’s pretty strange sometimes how fast time goes – I’ve not been well and have been missing exhibitions all over the place.

Though I did finally make it to the RMIT 1st and 2nd Year Gold & Silversmithing (Bachelor of Fine Arts) student exhibition ‘Work Hardened‘ at Spill Art Space at Boscia Galleries, unfortunately it was on the last day (good for me, not so good for readers).

installation; image taken with gallery permission

There’s a lot to look at – there are 130 pieces of jewellery and smithing here.

And I very much liked the gallery space – light-filled and not as empty as some spaces can feel. I’ll keep this in mind for any of my future exhibition ambitions.

installation; image taken with gallery permission

!st year students: Meg Ayton, Chloe Biddiscombe, Sue Buchanan, Pamela Chan, Katie Collins, Eli Giannini, Cecielia Gregory, Ada Hodgson, Sarah Jones, Kim Jonsson, Jasmina Krupic, Patrick Mays, Roslyn Peric, Jana Roman, Kate Wischusen, Michael Wong, Xuelin Wong

installation; image taken with gallery permission

2nd year students: Bridget Barnes, Isobel Fish, Annie Gobel, Eva Gaitatzis, Anna Gibbs, Annie Gobel, Lucinda Knight, Chris Massey, Ally McNaughton, Lindy McSwan, Danica Moorcoft, Thomas O’Hara, Stephen Robb, Elise Sheehan, Lena Danli Sun, Romy Sweetnam, Breanna Timmins, Natt Underwood, Esther Weinberg, San Young Kim

installation; image taken with gallery permission

The smithing pieces were most impressive to me. I do love raising … ah, the memories. I was wondering who was the smithing teacher this year, as the pieces were all pretty great and a number particularly adventurous and took a great deal of skill.

Standout pieces for me were:

  • Annie Gobel, ‘Elevated from the Ground‘, vessels and tray; beautiful colourful enamelled pieces; it seemed to me that there was a sureness and maturity in this piece, so that I wondered if the artist had previous experience before this degree; see the far left in the third image above
  • Danica Moorcoft, ‘Fritzel, Baby Bowl‘, vessel; this is included in the stand-out list mainly because it totally freaked me out! it’s interesting and I like some personality (though it made me really very uncomfortable); see top left in the second image above
  • Lindy McSwan, ‘Four Score Years and One’, vessels; actually, this was my favourite of the show, truly gorgeous vessels

    Lindy McSwan 'Four Score Years and One'

  • Eva Gaitatzis, ‘The History of Everything‘, tray and related objects; a lyrical arrangement I really liked (second favourite, if I may)

    Eva Gaitatizis 'The History of Everything'

  • Ally McNaughton, ‘ExtraTEArrestrials‘, teapots; absolutely loved the deconstructed teapots, stunningly made; left and bottom in the image below
  • Sue Buchanan, ‘Hold‘, container; folded black gorgeousness (no image here unfortunately)
  • … there were many many wonderful pieces, though I cannot write about them all (it was a struggle to limit myself to six, even when I promised myself I’d only choose five!)

Ally McNaughton, Elise Sheehan, Stephen Robb

I look forward to seeing some of the works these students make when they’re given free rein in third year… I was thinking how I liked first and second year work, for you can see the spark of ‘what they want to do’ starting to shine through ‘what they need to do’ for the degree … if that makes sense.

For a little bit of fun, check out my 1st and 2nd year exhibition review from last year:
Got a Nice Ring to it‘.

Work Hardened‘ was at Spill Art Space at Boscia Galleries from 16th to 26th November 2011.


Actions

Information

One response

27 11 2011
Vetti

I like this space very much – though it can get a bit crowded at opening speeches! Would be interested to see how this show would have looked if the students choice of works were displayed…




