Holiday snap

4 11 2011

The same friend who was in London almost two years ago is there again and has sent me another wonderful holiday snap.

courtesy of, and copyright to, the photographer; not to be reproduced without permission

It’s from the Liverpool Museum. The fine gold-work and inlay is incredible. Stunning.

The scale looks to be small, given the relative size of the display claws (and I can see the faint reflection of his fingers in the glass!). On researching it, I found it to be the Anglo-Saxon ‘Kingston Brooch’ which was found in Kent (80mm diam.). There’s another image here which I found through this site.

How thoughtful is my friend!


Actions

Information

One response

11 11 2011
Another holiday snap « Melbourne Jeweller

[…] My lovely and thoughtful friend has sent me another image from the V&A in London (see my previous one). […]




