RMIT Year 3, Semester 1, Silversmithing

29 12 2012

Third year, first semester, Silversmithing: Scale

The objective was “to build a (one) or a series of larger object/s that engages with the notion of scale“.

My immediate thought was maps. I love maps. Especially contour maps.
And what are maps without scale, if not a representation of scale, yes?

The first page of my visual diary has the phrase: “flattening the earth“.
I find it so Interesting that I came to the idea so quickly.
I decided to make a three-layer representation of three contours of the head of the Murray River, in the Kosciusko National Park.

image not to be reproduced without permission

image not to be reproduced without permission

It’s A3 size; the layers are stainless steel(2500m), aluminium (2000m) and monel (1500m).

detail; image not to be reproduced without permission

detail; image not to be reproduced without permission

Part of the project’s objectives was to make a connection with professional manufacturing processes – I used software (the name of which I cannot remember now – maybe something like Rhino?) to transfer my pencil contour maps into a file that I then forwarded to a laser cutters. So yes, the metal is laser cut … the metal sheet is so large, the process would have been very unlikely to have been cut by hand.

detail; image not to be reproduced without permission

detail; image not to be reproduced without permission

In retrospect I don’t like how I secured these layers together; I improved the technique on a future project (to be written about soon).

… last post in this series: RMIT Year 3, Semester 1, Jewellery #5
… see more projects from RMIT Year 3 here


Actions

Information

One response

18 02 2013
RMIT Year 3, Semester 1, Silversmithing update « Melbourne Jeweller

[…] an update to my recent post on this ‘Scale’ project, I was wandering through my photos and found some that were taken by uni at the […]

Leave a Reply

