Blanket and socks

20 12 2012

After my last pair of socks were made in October, it may seem that I’ve been quiet on the knitting and crochet front. Oh no, this isn’t true.

I’ve been busy making a most incredibly soft blanket. Thankfully I managed to finish it before it got too hot to handle yarn. It’s crocheted using a basic Granny Stripe pattern; the yarn is the most wonderful MadelineTosh Merino Light in Antler and Thunderstorm.

It took AGES but I treasure it so much, it’s the best snuggling blankie I’ve ever had!

beautiful blanket; image not to be reproduced without permission

beautiful blanket; image not to be reproduced without permission

I’ve also been making amazing (if I do say so myself!) xmas presents for my beautiful nieces – shhh, don’t tell them yet.

Following all that, I’ve even managed to fit in making a new pair of socks. I thought I was all-socked-out, but I started these before realising that I’d best start the xmas presents; and I like to get things finished, so knitted up the socks that had been started.

my newest pair of socks

my newest pair of socks

They use a pattern called By the Seine River, and my favourite components: ‘Magic Cast-on‘ (by Judy Becker), basic sock body from Knit Picks, Stretchy bind-off (by Jeny Staiman). The yarn is the same that I used for my mum’s socks, I was so jealous of how beautiful her socks turned out! I still like the yarn, though I’m not entirely sure it works with this pattern … nonetheless, I will still wear them.

detail

detail

What’s next on the craft-front? I have my eye on a few different sock patterns, and also on a cardigan. All pretty exciting. However Summer isn’t the best season to be knitting … will see …


Actions

Information

3 responses

21 12 2012
rachael

i saw an amazing polka dot sock pattern in the mollie makes magazine no 18 by anna wilkinson.i thought you might be interested in trying it out.

22 12 2012
Karen

Thanks Rachael – I’ll check it out!

9 11 2013
Crochet … crochet like the wind | Melbourne Jeweller

[…] just like the blanket I made around the same time last year […]

Leave a Reply

