New yarn-bomb

1 11 2012

My first rainbow yarn-bomb was installed exactly one year ago today.
It was so vibrant when first put up.

first image of first yarn-bomb; 1st Nov 2011

Time and weather have not been kind to it; it has required a few repairs over the year, mine and others.

Thus, I decided to replace it – I personally don’t think it’s right to impose craft on the public space without being responsible for its aging.

I pulled the first one down yesterday (before the rain). It was so dirty and had a spidery kind of resident; and the colour was so faded.

first yarn-bomb, removed and sad

The new yarn-bomb has been crocheted instead of knitted – it took at the most a quarter of the time!

before putting up

This time I didn’t get all stealth about the installation: instead of getting up at dawn, I just did it around lunch time, knowing that the local council actually support this activity (within reason).

second yarn-bomb … Yarn-bomb II; 31st October 2012

And it’s vibrant again!

I hope the school-kidsters like it.


Actions

Information

2 responses

10 06 2013
Yarn bombing | Melbourne Jeweller

[…] its fair share of yarn-bombing, I wish to make a plea to the yarn-bombing community. As I’ve written before, I personally don’t think it’s right to impose craft on the public space without being […]

27 09 2013
Yarnbomb III | Melbourne Jeweller

[…] My first installation was 1st November 2011, as part of a 21 days to yarn bomb movement. And my second installation was 1st November 2012. […]