RMIT Year 2, Semester 2, Enamelling #2

1 08 2012

Second year, second semester, Enamelling, project #2: Enamelling in the round

For this project we were to enamel a piece with volume, size … taking us from being essentially two-dimensional to three-dimensional.

Due to the time and effort I’d put into the first project, I took the second project a bit more efficiently. I decided to enamel some of the extra rings I’d made from the woven cloisonné panels I’d made in my jewellery project in second semester first year.

enamel rings; image not to be reproduced without permission

The colour was a departure from my blue-based preferences … it isn’t too clear from the images taken at the time, but the interior of the rings is in a startling lime green. As anyone who’s enamelled before would know, any object enamelled needs counter-enamel if the substrate isn’t beefy; so I needed to counter enamel the exterior of the rings in a clear enamel (to make the contrast more obvious).

enamelled rings; image not to be reproduced without permission

Of course a viewer wouldn’t know about the green enamel on the inside of a worn ring … I like these kinds of hidden secrets.

… last post in this series: RMIT Year 2, Semester 2, Enamelling #1
… see more projects from RMIT Year 2 Semester 2 here


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

