Some people are just lovely

26 02 2012

This morning, in the near light of dawn, I took my scissors needle and thread with me … I had noticed that my yarn bombing had been looking worse for wear (the kids at the school may have been too exuberant in their admiration?), and it was time to administer repairs.

my yarn bomb – still makes me smile

However when I approached the knitting, it was to my absolute delight that I found it had already been repaired.

I know! How wonderfully amazing!! Someone else had taken the time and care to sew up the seam. Not just to notice that it was in peril, but to take it upon their lovely person to do something about it.

repaired!

I want this person to know that I think they’re wonderful! How thoughtful. Really, I’m almost left speechless.

Please ask your friends / connections / communities – if you find the lovely person, please thank them for me.

—–

Update (26th February): in more yarn-bombing news, I was reading the facebook page of a local cafe, Little Deer Tracks, and this was mentioned about the local council attitude to yarn-bombing … how very pleasing!

Moreland City Council last week issued a statement in support of yarn bombing, a kind of woollen graffiti on public amenities such as trees, street lights and parking meters, provided artists were mindful of public safety.
The statement was in response to one yarn bomber’s complaints she had been mistreated by council staff while working on a bike rack outside Coburg cafe Little Deer Tracks.
Moreland mayor Oscar Yildiz said he was happy for yarn bombing to go ahead. “We are encouraging it… but they have just got to take into account public safety,” he said. “What people sometimes forget is the time and effort people are putting into these yarns, they are enhancing the city.”
Claire Drake – whose yarn bombing moniker is A Brunswick Bomber and who tags with group Yarn Corner – said she had permission from the cafe and was surprised to have been reprimanded by council staff. She said she accepted the officer’s apology and welcomed Moreland City’s yarn bombing stance. “People will now feel more comfortable doing it,” she said. “No one wants a cyclist or pedestrian to become injured as a result of a poorly placed yarn bomb on a street sign.” She said it was the artist’s responsibility to ensure public works were maintained.
“Bali” is a yarn bomber who founded the group Yarn Corner to unite solo artists for larger Melbourne projects. She said Yarn Corner had 150 members aged from 8 to 65. “If a piece is falling apart or becoming a safety issue we always take it down,” she said. “There’s so much grey in everyone’s everyday life… it [yarn bombing] can lift people’s spirits.

—–

Update (12th March): I’ve had to administer repairs again; the kids must be vigorously loving the colours! While I was stitching the seam up (again), a man walked past and said that it makes him smile every time he walks past it – how wonderful, that just made my day :)

—–


Actions

Information

One response

1 11 2012
New yarn-bomb « Melbourne Jeweller

[…] Time and weather have not been kind to it; it has required a few repairs over the year, mine and others. […]

Leave a Reply

