Neckpiece ‘For William’

4 05 2011

I’ve written quite a bit about the little collection I’ve recently made for ‘Winter Neckpieces’ exhibition at Studio 20/17: ‘The Sky is Full of Ghosts‘.

Over the next few posts I’ll publish a few photos of each piece.

This one is ‘For William‘; made for William Herschel, for whom the phrase above was made in reference to.

detail; image not to be reproduced without permission

I chose to name this one for him, as he was the more obvious public figure, when compared with his equally important though less well-known sister Caroline. It was more labour-intensive, more elaborate, and more-so than ‘For Caroline‘, it reminds me of mayoral regalia (though not sure I’m okay with that!).

The component in between the woven strips (detail here) references a beautiful photograph of a star (below) – the central bright circle surrounded by a halo pierced by four fine lines.

The source of the photograph was a book I remember I had when I was a child … I wanted to be an astronomer for years.

detail; image not to be reproduced without permission

The paper used for the weaving was taken from the full photograph below.

photograph from Encyclopedia of Space Travel and Astronomy


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

